A new environment

There is something to be said to the new obstacles one endures while being the first in their families to attend a university. One new obstacle I had to overcome, like many on their first year was moving away from home. Having to move away from home into a new environment was a new experience that could have gone many different ways. When I moved away from my home where I had lived for 14 years there was a lot of things that I had to learn about myself. Not having anyone in my immediate family to turn to for advice was something I really needed and lacked my first few months in college. Like many other freshmen college students I felt as if I had a chip on my shoulder because I was the first of my family to attend college. I didn’t know much of San Jose State or the city mainly because my family didn’t really travel. Along with many others I gained a lot of independence in my first year of college, from learning to wake up on time for class to spending part of your day to do laundry. These simply tasks that I constantly do were not things I was used to when I lived back in my home town. Living with my mom she did a lot of the cooking and cleaning while I helped every now and then but mainly focused on school and other things I was involved in. Being away from home taught mr to be independent and to learn to figure things out on your own without the help of my parents or anyone else. Not to forget all the classwork I had to keep up with along with some type of social life to help ease all the madness. I grew up a lot during my first year of college.

Leave a Reply

